Who We Are


The Allen County Solid Waste Management District (the District) was established on April 2, 1991, when the Indiana State Legislature enacted House Bill 1240 requiring counties to form Solid Waste Management Districts. All Districts were charged with the responsibility of developing waste management/reduction  plans to decrease Indiana’s dependency on landfills.

In 2018, the District was dissolved, taken under the leadership of the Commissioners of Allen County, and re-named the Allen County Department of Environmental Management with an expanded mission.

Our Strategy…

To accomplish these objectives, the District identifies and designs programs to educate and promote the importance of Reducing, Reusing, and Recycling.

These programs include: Household Battery Recycling, Electronics Recycling, and Fluorescent Bulb Recycling.

In addition to education, the District provides business and local government with financial incentives to expand recycling and composting programs in Allen County. Our Diversion Credit Program supports local recyclable material processors by making it economically feasible to process and deliver recyclable materials to industry.


News & Events